Seven Wonders of the World

The new seven wonders of the world were announced on July 7, 2007. Click on the images to view each of them. Click the icon on the lower left corner of the image to read more about the wonder.

The Colosseum

Great Wall of China

Christ the Redeemer


Machu Picchu

Chichen Itza

Taj Mahal

The Colosseum in Rome, Italy, was constructed around A.D.70 to hold up to 50,000 spectators who came to watch gory games involving gladiators, wild animals, and prisoners. The construction was started by Emperor Vespasian.

The Great Wall of China was constructed between the fifth century B.C. and the 16th century to keep out invading Mongol tribes. The Great Wall is the world's longest human-made structure that stretches for around 4,000 miles (6,400 kilometers).

The Christ the Redeemer statue in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, is another new wonder of the world. Standing at 105 feet (38 meters), the statue weighs around 700 tons. It is located at the peak of the Corcovado Mountain, overlooking the city of Rio de Janeiro.

Petra was the capital of the Nabataean kingdom ruled by King Aretas IV (9 B.C. to A.D. 40). The city is perched on the edge of the Arabian Desert in Jordan. The city of Petra is famous for the 138 feet tall (42-meter) temple carved with classical facades into rose-colored rock. The ancient city also included a splendid network of tunnels. The city also had water chambers and an amphitheater that held 4,000 people.

Machu Picchu is a 15th-century mountain settlement in the Amazon region of Peru. The city was constructed by the Inca civilization. The city was abandoned due to an outbreak of smallpox, a disease introduced by the Spanish forces during an invasion in the 1500s.

Chichen Itza is the most famous of the Maya temple cities. The city was the political and religious center of Maya civilization during the period from A.D. 750 to 1200. The most unique feature of the city is the Temple of Kukulkan. The temple rises to a height of 79 feet (24 meters) and has 91 steps on each of the four sides. Each step is dedicated to one day of the year and the 365th day is represented by the platform on the top.

The Taj Mahal in Agra, India, was built by the Mughal Emperor, Shah Jahan to honor the memory of his beloved late wife, Mumtaz Mahal. With its construction commencing in 1632, the Taj Mahal took about 15 years to complete. It has four minarets, each more than 13 stories tall, and is surrounded by formal walled gardens. The Taj Mahal is regarded as the finest example of Mughal art and architecture.